Wrestlers honored

Three WPIAL wrestlers were named to the Pennsylvania Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic First Team for 2009-2010. Eligibility for this award is limited to sophomores, juniors and seniors who have wrestled a minimum of fifteen varsity matches with a winning percentage of .600 or higher. Among those candidates the fourteen wrestlers with the highest unweighted grade point averages in the state of Pennsylvania are named to the first team. Named to the first team from the WPIAL were senior Mike Standish of Trinity High School and juniors Adam Kemerer of Mt. Lebanon and Matt Drabick of Keystone Oaks.

Earning second team honors were seniors Austin Van Horn and Andrew Buttlar, both of Mt. Lebanon, Adam Lazenga, Bethel Park, and Justin Harold of Kiski Area, as well as juniors Anthony DiLonardo of Plum and Michael Kazalas of Keystone Oaks.

A number of other wrestlers were named to honorable mention status, including, from Butler High School, juniors Matt Pribis, Eric Tuck, Cole Baxter, Cody Hartman and Michael Crawford; Robert Heuler, Bethel Park; Paul Bewak, Hempfield; Scott Allen, Mt. Lebanon; Jordan Shulman, Hampton; Bill Emerick, Kiski Area and Tommy Thorpe of Charleroi. Awarded honorable mention as seniors were Adam Rosensteel, Kiski Area; Domenic Boyle, Plum and Michael Scialabba, Butler.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home