PSU wins team title, gold

DES MOINES, Iowa – Penn State’s Quentin Wright upset top-seeded Dustin Kilgore of Kent State to give the Nittany Lions their third straight team title Saturday night in the NCAA wrestling championships.
Wright beat Kilgore 8-6 at 197 pounds, giving the Nittany Lions an insurmountable lead over Oklahoma State.
Penn State began the day with a 20.5-point lead over the Cowboys. The Nittany Lions also had five wrestlers in the finals, three more than Oklahoma State.
The Cowboys stormed back for a brief one-point lead. But wins by Ed Ruth and Wright sealed the crown for Penn State.
Ruth stopped Robert Hamlin of Lehigh with a 12-4 major decision at 184 pounds.
Chris Perry of Oklahoma State opened the championship round with a 2-1 tiebreaker decision over Matt Brown of Penn State at 174 pounds. Anthony Nelson won the heavyweight title with a 6-2 decision over Mike McMullen of Northwestern before Jesse Delgado of Illinois stopped Nico Megaludis of Penn State, 7-4, in the 125-pound finals.
Logan Stieber of Ohio State followed with a 7-4 decision over Tony Ramos of Iowa in the 133-pound championship.
Mitchell Port of Edinboro saw his chance to become an NCAA champion evaporate in a 4-3 loss to Kendrick Maples of Oklahoma in the 141-pound finals.
Jordan Oliver won Oklahoma State's third title when he too a 3-2 win from Justin Chamberlain of Boise State at 149 pounds.
Derek St. John of Iowa won the 157-pound title with a 3-2 decision over Jason Welch of Northwestern at 157.
Capping the event was Kyle Dake of Cornell stopping David Taylor of Penn State 5-4 in the 165-pound finals.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home