Canon-Mac powers way to finals

Canon-McMillan all but wrapped up its third straight team tournament title by advancing four wrestlers to the finals in Class AAA: Dalton Macri (120), Connor Schram (126), Solomon Chishko (145) and Cody Wiercioch (170).
Unless something unusual happens, such wrestlers getting thrown out of the tournament that would wipe out their points, the Big Macs will have won the team portion of this event in 2011, 2012 and 2013.
Wiercioch is looking for his third state title and Schram his second. macri and Chishko are each chasing their first.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Didn't CM already win the team actual team title this year? I know they track points accumulated during the individual tourny, but didnt realize that determined a team champion. Why even have seperate tourny. Seems redundant but thats just my perspective; maybe wrestling has a bigger budget in PA. Seem like they could just determine a team champion by most points accumlated during the individual tourny.

Saturday, March 09, 2013 5:07:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

My opinion: That would declare a team champion based on the accomplishments of a few individuals. High school wrestling is a team sport. It wouldn't prove that a team that did better in the individual tournament could actually beat another team head to head.

Sunday, March 17, 2013 2:35:00 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home