One win shy

South Fayette and Canon-McMillan each shared the disappointment of losing their team tournament dual meets Saturday at Chartiers Valley. The two teams came in with different hopes: South Fayette to win their first WPIAL Team Tournament title in the school's history and Canon-McMillan to keep its string of team tourney appearances alive.
Neither succeeded.
South Fayette and Canon-McMillan each came up one win shy in their losses. Canon-McMillan fell 29-28 to North Allegheny in the battle for third place in  Class AAA and South Fayette lost to Burrell 34-28. The Bucs won their eighth consecutive WPIAL title and 10th overall.
Only the most ardent Canon-McMillan fan felt the Big Macs could repeat the success they had the past three seasons. They lost nearly every upper weight from last year's team and it showed in this tournament. That put pressure on the lighter weights to win and Latrobe and North Allegheny matched up well and came away with the tossup matches.
South Fayette, meanwhile, had its chances against Burrell but couldn't find the extra win in the finals.
The Lions get another trip to Hershey; the Big Macs do not.
If the WPIAL Team Tournament tells you anything, it is probably this: to reach the highest levels, you have to wrestle at the highest level.

Class AAA

Third Place

North Allegheny–29 Canon-McMillan–28
106–fontenot (CM) dec. Stedeker 7-6
*113–Landefeld NA) dec. Price 1-0
120–Oblock (CM) dec. Stossel 3-2
126–Macri (CM) dec. Forys 4-3
132–Hinkson (NA) tech. fall over Miles 18-2
138–Boeh (NA) dec. Hutchin 3-2
145–Chishko (CM) tech. fall over D. Landefeld 22-6
152–Krenzelak (CM) dec. Shideler 3-0
160–Woodley (NA) dec. Kusturis 4-3
170–Konyk (CM) tech fall over Tallman 16-0
182–Colt Byerly (NA) dec. Lesko 8-1
195–Clay Byerly (NA) pinned Zeremenko 1:18
220–Smith (NA) pinned Rideout 1:19
Hvy–Furman (CM) pinned Porbert 3:03
First Place
Franklin Regional 42 Latrobe 19106 - Devin Brown (FR) pinned Matthew Lukon, 1:30.
113 - Spencer Lee (FR) major dec. Ethan McCoy, 15-6.
120 - Luke Pletcher (Latrobe) tech. fall Kyle Berk, 23-8.
126 - Gus Solomon (FR) dec. Joel Cawoski, 8-2.
132 - Dom Giannangeli (FR) dec. Ethan Stas, 3-1.
138 - Tyler Smith (FR) tech. fall Jake Willochell, 20-5.
145 - Michael Kemerer (FR) major dec. Ethan Smith, 14-5.
152 - Josh Maruca (FR) major dec. Jake Shaffer, 9-1.
160 - Josh Shields (FR) pinned Luke Shaffer, 3:27.
170 - Dom Scalise (Latrobe) dec. Brandon Yant, 2-0.
182 - Zack Zavatsky (Latrobe) tech. fall John Wohlin, 18-3.
195 - Jake Pickup (FR) dec. Travis Schmeling, 3-2 UTB.
220 - Brett Zanotto (FR) dec. Logan Carns, 10-1.
285 - Tyler Mears (Latrobe) pinned Charlie Mazon, 1:42.
Class AA
Burrell–34 South Fayette–28
106–John (SF) dec. D. Edwards 6-5
113–Jeffrey (B) tech fall over Wolfe 17-2
120–Roberts (B) dec. Chaussard 7-1
*126–Marra (B) tech. fall Rzepecki 18-3
132–Carr (SF) dec. Andrejcik 6-4
138–Greenwald (B) dec. Ging 4-2 OT
145–Falleroni (B) dec. Beltz 8-2
152–Edwards (B) pinned B. Previte 1:27
160–G. Fetchet (SF) pinned Hanna 2:44
170–J. Walker (SF) dec. D. Beattie 11-3 (major)
182–J. Previte (SF) pinned Pattock 3:47
195–Scherer (B) dec. Culberson 3:47
220–Z. Walker (SF) pinned Arabia 1:32
Hvy–A. Beattie (B) pinned Chrystoff :52

Third Place
Jeff-Morgan–45 Burgettstown–22
106–Damon Belford (JM) won by forfeit.
113–No match.
120–McDermott (B) won by forfeit.
*126–Demaske (JM) pinned Bails, 1:37.
132–Riffle (B) pinned Goldsberry, 1:15.
138–Miller (JM) dec. Kotouch, 11-5.
145–Kniha (JM) pinned Paich, :47.
152–Tyler Nicholson (B) dec. Woodring, 9-1 (major).
160–McKee (B) pinned Mayfield, :42.
170–Bowlen (JM) pinned Christy, :40.
182–Perkins (JM) dec. Tristan Nicholson, 7-4.
195–Jento (JM) dec. Brad Hucik, 5-3.
220–Patterson (JM) pinned Brandon Hucik, 1:23.
Hvy–Wolfe (JM) pinned Shernisky, 1:01.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Burrell's title is their 10th overall---8 in a row, 1 in the middle of Mount Pleasant's run, 1 in the middle of Washington's run.

Sunday, February 02, 2014 3:35:00 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home