Three-for-all for Big Macs

Canon-McMillan had three state champions and won its third straight team title in the PIAA Class AAA Wrestling Championships Saturday night in Hershey.
Connor Schram (126), Solomon Chishko (145) and Cody Wiercioch (170) each won a gold medal and Dalton Macri (120) finished with a silver medal. The Big Macs tied for the school’s best showing. In 1950, Manuel Pihakis, Joe Solomon and Don Haney each won gold medals when it was called Canonsburg High School.
The Big Macs had 99 team points, besting Central Dauphin's 75.
Schram won a 5-3 decision over Michael Kemerer of Franklin Regional in the 126-pound finals.
Chishko put on a dynamic performance in shutting out Chris Vassar of Cedar Cliff, 8-0, in the 145-pound final.

Wiercioch followed three bouts later by tearing through Joey Gartland of Penncrest 7-2 at 170 pounds for his third title.
Dalton Macri won silver after losing in the 120-pound finals and Alex Campbell took eighth at 220.
A.C. Headlee of Waynesburg finished fourth at 113 pounds.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Joe, has Canon-Mac/Canonsburg passed Clearfield yet in total number of individual state champions?? I know they were close a couple years ago.

Sunday, March 10, 2013 12:35:00 AM  
Blogger Joe Tuscano said...

The three state titles makes it 39 for Canon-McMillan/Canonsburg, one behind Clearfield. However, the PIAA does not recognize that total. They have C-M and Canonsburg as separate schools. Canon-McMillan has 18 and Canonsburg 21.

Monday, March 11, 2013 12:58:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Joe I think you're mistaken. I went back and checked and it now looks like they're TIED at 40. I pulled out my state program from 2001. In there,they show (thru the 2000 season)Clearfield with 37, CM with 13 and Canonsburg with 21. Since that, CM has 6 more champs (1 each in 2006, 2010 and 2012 and 3 this year) Clearfield has had only 3 (2004, 2005, and 2008. Please re-check and see if my math is correct!!!!

Monday, March 11, 2013 4:10:00 PM  
Blogger Joe Tuscano said...

The state book has Canon-McMillan entering this tournament with 15, so that means they now have 18. Canonsburg is listed with 21. Thus, 39. They could be wrong. I'll try to check today or tomorrow.

Monday, March 11, 2013 4:51:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Joe, here's the list of CM State Champs:
Peterson - 1967
O'Korn - 1972-73
Marino - 1974-75
Dellorso - 1983
Rothka - 1985-86
Benjamin - 1985
K. O'Daniel - 1994
Angle - 1995
Cridge - 1996
Mockler - 1998
Johnston - 2006
Schram - 2010 and 2013
Weircioch - 2012 and 2013
Chishko -2013

That's 19 for CM and 21 for Canonsburg making 40!!

BTW I'm the poster of this chain - Nick - CM class of '67!!

Tuesday, March 12, 2013 2:09:00 PM  
Anonymous Coach Slack said...

1 and 3 and 5
2-Phil Ahwesh
4-Andy Puchany
6 and 7-Mal Podrasky
8-Elias George
9-Tony George
10 and 13-Don Haney
11 and 15 and 16
Manuel Pihakis
12-Joe Solomon
14-William Hulings
17-Robert Defelice
18-Vic Defelice
19-Eugene Smittle
20-Nick Dano
21-Arthur "Bucky" Maughn
22-Les Peterson
23 and 24-George O'Korn
25 and 26-Angelo Marino
27-Craig Dellorso
28 and 30-Ron Rothka
29-Rob Benjamin
31-Keilan O'Daniel

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 12:05:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home